Tuesday, 2 February 2016

Oman bans domestic workers from five African countries

Muscat – Oman has stopped issuing visas to domestic workers from Ethiopia, Kenya, Senegal, Guinea and Cameroon.
The decision came into effect on January 31. Talking to Muscat Daily, Maj Rashid al Abri, a senior ROP official, said, “We have issued a circular on Sunday in this regard. Domestic workers from African countries including Ethiopia, Kenya, Senegal, Guinea and Cameroon will not be issued visas to work in Oman.”
Maj Abri said that there are primarily two reasons behind the new decision. “Firstly, it is to prevent the spread of diseases from these African countries to Oman,” he said.
“We have also found that domestic workers from these countries get involved in certain crimes. We need to stop this practice. The process to reduce the number of hirings from these countries had started few months ago and the official ban is being implemented from February 1.”
He said that domestic workers from these countries who are already in Oman can renew their contracts as the new rule does not apply to them.
“New visas for domestic workers from these countries, however, have been completely stopped,” Maj Abri further added.
Muscat Daily